Resilience Hub Guideline

How to sign up as a Resilience Hub in the Making Cities Resilient 2030

Download the Guide




What is a Resilience Hub?

Resilience Hubs are cities, municipalities or local authorities that have political and technical commitment to take actions to address disaster and climate risks. They must have developed and implemented DRR strategies and plan in alignment with the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030 and contributed to the achievement of the New Urban Agenda, Paris Climate Agreement, and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). They must have established governance systems with a dedicated department, unit or focal point on resilience or disaster/climate risk reduction, have well-coordinated and engaged multi and diverse stakeholders in the process of developing and implementing DRR/resilience strategies, and have demonstrated a long-term and continuous learning to ensure their cities are becoming safe, sustainable and resilient. They must have already reached a high level of resilience building commitments, showed sustained mechanism for DRR/resilience investments, and with an expertise and interest in disseminating best practices to other cities joining the MCR2030.

Cities or local authorities participating in the MCR2030 can be recognized as Resilience Hubs, for a period of 3 years. The period can be renewed. 

As part of the MCR2030, Resilience Hubs must have the following minimum qualifications:

  • In Stage C of the MCR2030;
  • Must demonstrate good practices and innovative approaches in DRR/resilience along the Ten Essentials for Making Cities Resilient and the MCR2030 strategic and cross-cutting objectives; 
  • Successfully financed at least one initiative arising from the resilience roadmap;
  • Demonstrate ability to generate useful DRR knowledge tools and disseminate them;
  • Promote city-to-city and peer-to-peer knowledge exchanges; and
  • Willing to invest a minimum of US$25,000 in grant funding or in kind to support other MCR2030 cities in their resilience journey, which could be a one-off or an annual commitment.


What are the roles of Resilience Hubs?

The primary purpose of the Resilience Hubs is to enhance city-to-city collaborations and peer-to-peer support along the resilience journey. Resilience Hubs have a critical role in supporting other MCR2030 cities in knowledge sharing, capacity building and creating learning opportunities.  They can inspire other cities to commit to become resilient cities and communities.

Resilience Hubs should be able to leverage established, trusted, financial and intellectual resources, including networks, that can be used in support of DRR and resilience building activities by other cities in the region or beyond.  Resilience Hubs are committed to roll out a range of initiatives to support other MCR2030 cities.  These could include, but not limited to: 

  • hosting international events related to the MCR2030;
  • coordinating study tours to showcase practical examples and share experience;
  • twinning up with other cities to provide support in the expertise area;
  • providing technical assistance and support training to enhance resilience awareness and in the development and implementation of the DRR/Resilience strategies; 
  • publishing and disseminating knowledge products, lessons learned and good practices;
  • providing access to partners who can support the journey of twinned cities along the Resilience Roadmap;
  • injecting seed financing; and 
  • providing assistance with credit ratings and development of municipal bond markets

Resilience Hubs are obligated to submit an annual report of their activities as Resilience Hubs through the MCR2030 dashboard. 



How to become a Resilient Hub?

Step 1

Join the Making Cities Resilient 2030 (

Step 2

Submit an expression of interest including the following documents to the relevant MCR2030 Regional Secretariat:

  • Motivation Letter signed by the Mayor or Chief Executive of the local government
  • Candidature form (annex 1), including 3-year plan of activities/offers as a Resilience Hub 
  • An example of exemplary work done on resilience – either a case study, an article, or a report


Step 3

The request will go through a screening process - via the relevant Regional Coordinating Committee (RCC) and the MCR2030 Global Coordinating Committee. If the application does not meet the required criteria, it will be returned to the applicant city highlighting missing elements.

Step 4

Successful applicant will be recognised as a Resilience Hub and receive a certificate.  The recognition will be for an initial period of three years. This period can be renewed.

Step 5

Each Resilience Hub will then create a Resilience Hub profile in the MCR2030 dashboard, with details of the activities and services to be provided over the three year period. Resilience Hubs will be featured in the MCR2030 website and dashboard, as well as in relevant reports and advocacy materials.  

Step 6

Take actions and show your support to other MCR2030 cities along their resilience journey!

Step 7

Report your Resilience Hub activities in the MCR2030 dashboard.


< Last update: 26 January 2022 >

I need more information. How do I get in touch with MCR2030?

Contact MCR secretariat for my region